“Hem of Your Garment” By: Cake

“Hem of Your Garment” By: Cake

“Hem Of Your Garment”

I am intrinsically no good

I have a heart that’s made of wood

I am only biding time

Only reciting memorized lines

And I’m not fit to touch

The hem of your garment

No, no I’m not fit to touch the hem of your garment

I have no love but only goals

How very empty is my soul

It is a soul that feels no thrill

A soul that could easily kill

And I’m not fit to touch

The hem of your garment

No, no I’m not fit to touch the hem of your garment

I am intrinsically no good

I have a heart that’s made of wood

I am only biding time

Only reciting memorized lines

And I’m not fit to touch

The hem of your garment

I am intrinsically no good

I have a heart that’s made of wood

I am only biding time

Only reciting memorized lines

And I’m not fit to touch

The hem of your garment

No, no I’m not fit to touch the hem of your garment

The hem of your garment.

Recently when I was listening to a song I couldn’t
help but think of a familiar passage in the bible that is to me one of the most
amazing stories of the Bible. The song “Hem of Your Garment,” is referring to
the story of Jesus and the woman who had a blood issue of twelve years. The
song says, “I’m not fit to touch the hem of your garment” referring to the
woman that when she saw Jesus she crawled to him and touched the hem of his
garment, knowing that she would be healed. Because of her faith in Jesus when
she touched him she instantly was healed of her disease. When she had touched
Jesus’s garment he instantly knew that someone had touched him. By reading the
song lyrics we can see that the writer clearly feels unworthy of the attention
of the person that he is writing about, much like the woman from the scripture.
I can only imagine the loneliness and despair that she must felt from being
considered unclean for so long. I believe that this song is clearly alluding to
the story found in Mark chapter 5, and that the author of the song is trying to
convey the same message that the scripture describes.

“She heard the reports about Jesus and came up
behind him in the crowd and touched his garment. For she said, “If I touch even
his garments, I will be made well.” And immediately the flow of blood dried up,
and she felt her body that she was healed of her disease. And Jesus, perceiving
in himself that power had gone out from him, immediately turned about in the
crowd and said, “Who touched my garments?” (Mark 5:27-30)

Both the Bible account and the song are trying to
convey a message of unworthiness and faith that things will change. I think
that the author of the song was trying to describe a particular feeling, and
knew of the story in the Bible, and used the same idea to convey his message to
the public.

About ethanponder

My name is Ethan Ponder, I am from Cullman Alabama. Currently a student at Jacksonville State University where I am studying Liberal Studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

