Coheed and Cambria- The Afterman Allusion

Coheed and Cambria - The Afterman. picture

Coheed and Cambria- The Afterman Allusion

 

She gave her heart
to a falling star
When news filtered through of this tragedy
all the walls went out

Around the world she declines
as the tears from her eyes fall
No one understands and no one will
all she has lost

If he’s not here, then where?
If he’s not here, then where?
If he’s not here, then where?
If he’s not here, then where?

When she found it there
In the cold, blue clear
The words distressed and unfamiliar
with the feeling seared

Emptiness had hold
and in her chest she clenched
Reality settled as the memories raced
while on the screen he lived
She teared “Your selfishess has robbed you
of the man you could have been
I wouldn’t change a thing about you
I love you dearly, my friend”

She gave her heart
To a falling star
When news filtered through of this tragedy
All the walls went out

Around the world she declines
As the tears from her eyes fall
No one understands and no one will
All she has lost

If he’s not here, then where?
If he’s not here, then where?
My love, been searching for my Afterman
If he’s not here, then where?
If he’s not here, then where?
My love, been searching for my Afterman

When I first heard this song I didn’t think much of it, but over time it started to grow on me and then I started to see the allusion that lies buried within the song. The video aides nicely in the allusion, I think that without the video it would be hard to deceiver a true allusion within the song. The song describes someone (in this case a woman) looking for someone who isn’t there. The man in the video isn’t around anymore, giving the allusion that he has died at some point in time from the rocket crash. I think that the rocket signifies the thought that whatever it is that is protecting her or that is watching over her is not of this world, and is in fact something much greater than her. In the video it portrays the woman being comforted by a man after she thought he had died, but in fact he had survived. This again to me shows some type of a Godly figure that is always there no matter the circumstances, and is not limited by a physical death. She is comforted so greatly by this person that she allows herself to sleep, showing her being very comfortable with that being. The man gives off some sort of an omnipresence vibe being that he is instantaneously in a astronaut suit then in casual clothes shortly after, which again to me signifies something that can be with you all the time in any scenario and in any place. The place is significant as well being that she is in the ocean, a place known by people on earth to be lonely and desolate. I think that the ocean gives you an insight to the alones that the woman is experiencing. At the end the man slips away into the ocean, after she is sleeping peacefully, again signifying that he is not human and showing that he will comfort her under any circumstances. I think that you can’t get the full affect unless you watch the video a few times which will allow you to see the allusion a little more clearly.

About ethanponder

My name is Ethan Ponder, I am from Cullman Alabama. Currently a student at Jacksonville State University where I am studying Liberal Studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

